

# The Walter Scott Prize for Historical Fiction 2024 PRIZE RULES

- 1. Books must be written in English and must have been first published in the **UK**, **Ireland or the Commonwealth**, between **1**<sup>st</sup> **January and 31**<sup>st</sup> **December 2023.**
- 2. Books written in English by **authors of British nationality** first published outside the UK, Ireland or the Commonwealth in 2023 are also eligible provided they are **also published in the UK in that calendar year.**
- Authors who have already won the prize twice are precluded from submitting a new work
  until a period of seven years has elapsed since they last won the Prize. For example a secondtime winner in 2021 could not submit again until 2028. This rule does not apply to previously
  shortlisted authors, only winners.
- 4. For the purposes of this prize, 'historical' means that the **majority of the book**, ie more than 50%, must be set **at least 60 years before its publication date**, ie 1963 or earlier. This definition comes from the subtitle of Walter Scott's novel *Waverley*; *Or*, 'Tis Sixty Years Since.
- 5. The criteria for judging the works are, in the judges' opinion, **ambition**, **innovation** and **enduring appeal**, with **quality of writing** as the deciding factor. It is suggested that entrants look at previous winners and shortlists for the prize (listed at the end of this document) to determine the calibre of work likely to be considered.
- 6. Books must be submitted by publishers. The submission of an author's work by the publisher will be taken as agreement by the author that they are willing for the submitted work to be considered. Self-published books are not eligible, either where the author is the publisher or where a company has been specifically set up to publish that book.
- 7. Publishers may submit up to three titles per imprint. The judges and administrators reserve the right to call in further books for consideration, beyond the submission limit.
- 8. Hardback and paperback originals are eligible. Finished copies or bound proofs may be submitted, and in certain circumstances, e-Book files and pdfs.
- 9. Entries must be submitted by 31st October 2023.
- 10. There is no charge for submitting a book, but a fee of £1,200 + VAT per shortlisted title will be levied to contribute to promotion and marketing of the shortlist. By entering, publishers agree to pay this contribution should their book be shortlisted, and agree that future reprints of the book carry approved Walter Scott Prize stickers or artwork on the front cover.
- 11. A longlist will be announced in February 2024. Publishers of the longlisted books will be notified as soon as the longlist is decided and will be able to promote the book's longlisting

after the announcement date. We regret that we are not able to notify publishers whose titles have not been successful in reaching the longlist.

- 12. A shortlist will be announced in March or April 2024. Publishers of the shortlisted books will be notified as soon as the shortlist is decided and will be able to promote the book's shortlisting on an agreed date. Shortlist stickers and artwork will be provided for this purpose.
- 13. Shortlisted authors will be invited to the Walter Scott Prize prizegiving event in the Scottish Borders in June 2024. Shortlisted authors will be guests of the Prize, and accommodation will be covered, but publishers are expected to cover their authors' travel expenses.
- 14. The winner is awarded £25,000. Other shortlisted authors receive £1,500 each, which is awarded after the winner is announced.
- 15. No books or proofs will be returned.
- 16. The judges' decision is final. Discussion or correspondence concerning any decision cannot be entered into.
- 17. **Six copies** of each entry should be submitted with one submission form, by **31**<sup>st</sup> **October 2023**, to:

Rebecca Salt, The Walter Scott Prize Room 10, Brewery Park Business Centre, Haddington, East Lothian, EH41 3HA Scotland United Kingdom

A submission form is attached or available to download at www.walterscottprize.co.uk.

## PREVIOUS WINNERS OF THE WALTER SCOTT PRIZE FOR HISTORICAL FICTION

2023

Winner: These Days by Lucy Caldwell

**Shortlist:** The Geometer Lobachevsky by Adrian Duncan

Act Of Oblivion by Robert Harris
The Chosen by Elizabeth Lowry

The Sun Walks Down by Fiona McFarlane

Ancestry by Simon Mawer

I Am Not Your Eve by Devika Ponnambalam

2022

Winner: News of the Dead by James Robertson

Shortlist: Rose Nicolson by Andrew Greig

Fortune by Amanda Smyth
The Magician by Colm Tóibín

2021

**Winner:** The Mirror and the Light by Hilary Mantel

**Shortlist:** The Tolstoy Estate by Steven Conte A Room Made of Leaves by Kate Grenville

Hamnet by Maggie O'Farrell

The Dictionary of Lost Words by Pip Williams

2020

Winner: The Narrow Land by Christine Dwyer Hickey

**Shortlist:** The Parisian by Isabella Hammad To Calais, in Ordinary Time by James Meek

Shadowplay by Joseph O'Connor The Redeemed by Tim Pears

A Sin of Omission by Marguerite Poland

2019

*Winner:* The Long Take by Robin Robertson

**Shortlist:** A Long Way From Home by Peter Carey

After The Party by Cressida Connolly
The Western Wind by Samantha Harvey

Now We Shall Be Entirely Free by Andrew Miller

Warlight by Michael Ondaatje

2018

**Winner:** The Gallows Pole by Benjamin Myers **Shortlist**: Manhattan Beach by Jennifer Egan

Sugar Money by Jane Harris
Grace by Paul Lynch

oruce by Faul Lylich

The Wardrobe Mistress by Patrick McGrath
Miss Boston and Miss Hargreaves by Rachel Malik

#### 2017

**Winner:** Days Without End by Sebastian Barry **Shortlist**: A Country Road, A Tree by Jo Baker The Vanishing Futurist by Charlotte Hobson

The Good People by Hannah Kent Golden Hill by Francis Spufford Mothering Sunday by Graham Swift The Gustav Sonata by Rose Tremain

#### 2015

**Winner**: The Ten Thousand Things by John Spurling **Shortlist**: The Zone of Interest by Martin Amis

The Lie by Helen Dunmore
Viper Wine by Hermione Eyre
In the Wolf's Mouth by Adam Foulds
Arctic Summer by Damon Galgut
A God in Every Stone by Kamila Shamsie

## 2013

Winner: The Garden Of Evening Mists by Tan Twan Eng

Shortlist: Toby's Room by Pat Barker The Daughters Of Mars by Thomas Keneally Bring Up The Bodies by Hilary Mantel The Streets by Anthony Quinn Merivel by Rose Tremain

## 2011

Winner: The Long Song by Andrea Levy

Shortlist: C by Tom McCarthy

The Thousand Autumns of Jacob de Zoet by David Mitchell

Ghost Light by Joseph O'Connor Heartstone by C J Sansom

## 2016

**Winner:** Tightrope by Simon Mawer **Shortlist:** Sweet Caress by William Boyd A Place Called Winter by Patrick Gale

Mrs Engels by Gavin McCrea

End Games in Bordeaux by Allan Massie

Salt Creek by Lucy Treloar

#### 2014

**Winner**: An Officer and a Spy by Robert Harris **Shortlist**: Life After Life by Kate Atkinson

The Luminaries by Eleanor Catton

Harvest by Jim Crace
Fair Helen by Andrew Greig
The Promise by Ann Weisgarber

## 2012

Winner: On Canaan's Side by Sebastian Barry Shortlist: The Sisters Brothers by Patrick de Witt Half Blood Blues by Esi Edugyan The Stranger's Child by Alan Hollinghurst Pure by Andrew Miller The Quality of Mercy by Barry Unsworth

#### 2010

Winner: Wolf Hall by Hilary Mantel Shortlist: Hodd by Adam Thorpe Lustrum by Robert Harris Sacred Hearts by Sarah Dunant Stone's Fall by Iain Pears To Kill a Tsar by Andrew Williams The Glass Room by Simon Mawer The Quickening Maze by Adam Foulds

The Walter Scott Prize for Historical Fiction, Room 10, Brewery Park Business Centre Haddington, East Lothian, Scotland, EH41 3HA

Telephone: 01620 829800 Email: rebecca@stonehillsalt.co.uk