• Blank_Slider1
  • Blank_Slider2
  • Blank_Slider3
  • Blank_Slider5
  • Blank_Slider4

Adventures in

Time Travel

The Young Walter Scott Prize

If you are aged between 11 and 19 and interested in history and writing, the Young Walter Scott Prize is ready to take you on an adventure.  We are the UK’s only creative writing prize specifically for budding historical fiction writers!  Click on the menu buttons to your left to find out more about the writing prize and the Imagining History workshops.

Announcing our 2018 winners!

We’re thrilled to reveal the fourteen winners of the 2018 YWSP.  Can you guess when their stories are set by the titles?  Be inspired to enter this year’s competition, which opens later in the Summer 2019.

Congratulations to our winners, and to everyone who entered the competition. All entrants receive feedback from the Judges – it’s one of the things that is unique about our Prize.

The 2018 winners are:

11-15 age category


Winner:  Jenny O’Gorman  Shadow of Hunger

Runner-up:  Catherine Fitzhugh   Little Matron

Highly Commended:  

Helena Baxendale  Transmigration Programme

Francis Browne  Alien Bouncers

Jack Tickner  Vive La Revolution

Tiphaine Tsatsaris  C’est La Vie

Lucas Yates  The Soldier’s Civil War

16-19 age category


Winner:  Joseph Burton  Dust on the Road

Runner-up:  Natasha Mirus  The Station

Highly Commended:

Megan Lintern  Lest We Forget

Andrew Pettigrew  The Piper

Jonathan Rhys Clark  The Long Sunset

Elise Swain  Deleterious

Aili Winstanley-Channer  Ladybird, Ladybird


You can find out more about the winners and their stories in our news section here.