The 2018 Shortlist is out!

17th April, 2018

The 2018 Walter Scott Prize shortlist is out!  The six books are:

Manhattan Beach  Jennifer Egan (Corsair)

Sugar Money  Jane Harris (Faber)

Grace Paul Lynch (Oneworld)

The Wardrobe Mistress Patrick McGrath (Hutchinson)

Miss Boston and Miss Hargreaves  Rachel Malik (Fig Tree)

The Gallows Pole  Benjamin Myers (Bluemoose Books)

You can read all about the books here.

The Judges said:

“Every year the Walter Scott Prize attracts more entries, and again this year we have had some terrific books on the table. It has been a real treat to explore quite dazzlingly different periods in history, and to discover new talent in first-timeauthors. This year’s shortlist encompasses the rural and the urban, the exotic and the everyday, the epic and the intimate. The narrative drive in each of our shortlisted books is compelling and on the pages are universal truths with which we can identify. The judges are relishing the challenge of alighting on a winner!”

The eight-strong judging panel comprises Alistair Moffat (chair), Elizabeth Buccleuch, Kate Figes, Katharine Grant, James Holloway, Elizabeth Laird, James Naughtie and Kirsty Wark.  They will meet to decide the winner just ahead of its announcement at the Baillie Gifford Borders Book Festival on Saturday 16thJune.

Watch out for our Author Spotlights on each of the six shortlisted books in the weeks to come!