The Prize’s founder and sponsor the Duke of Buccleuch launched the Walter Scott Prize Academy in December 2016.

Designed to broaden the global reach and strengthen the resources of the Prize, the Academy is an advisory group feeding into the submission process, comprising people at the centre of literary life in the UK and in Commonwealth countries around the world, whose positions and knowledge give them a unique standpoint to help the Prize find its winners.

The Walter Scott Prize Academy members

Jemma Birrell, former Artistic Director, Sydney Writer’s Festival

James Daunt, CEO Waterstones

Roland Gulliver, Associate Director, Edinburgh International Book Festival

Philip Hensher, Writer and Critic

Justine Henzell, Calabash Festival, Jamaica

Jonathan Holloway, Artistic Director, Melbourne Festival

Anne O’Brien, Artistic Director, Auckland Writer’s Festival

Hal Wake, former Artistic Director, Vancouver International Writer’s Festival

See here for the 2018 Academy Recommended reading list.