2019 Walter Scott Prize shortlist announced

2nd April, 2019

The tenth Walter Scott Prize shortlist has been announced! The six books are:

A Long Way From Home Peter Carey (Faber)

After The Party Cressida Connolly (Viking)

The Western Wind Samantha Harvey (Jonathan Cape)

Now We Shall Be Entirely Free Andrew Miller (Sceptre)

Warlight  Michael Ondaatje(Jonathan Cape)

The Long Take Robin Robertson  (Picador)         

The Judges said:

“Over the ten years of our Prize, we have been able to throw a spotlight onto an amazing variety of books and historical periods.  This year is no exception, with a shortlist of dazzling diversity.  What a privilege it is, to go on a journey through the fictional centuries, pick up gems that sparkle at us, and present them for new readers to discover.  

From the dark edges of cities to insular rural communities, and from long distance road trip to intercontinental adventure story, our shortlisted books dare to investigate themes and issues in unique ways. In its tenth year, it’s fitting that the Prize is pushing the boundaries of historical fiction, whilst maintaining great writing as its most important criterion.”

The judging panel of seven comprises Alistair Moffat (chair), Elizabeth Buccleuch, Katharine Grant, James Holloway, Elizabeth Laird, James Naughtie and Kirsty Wark.  They will meet to decide the winner just ahead of its announcement at the Baillie Gifford Borders Book Festival on Saturday 15thJune.

Further details about the prize’s tenth anniversary activities and events will be announced later this year.

To find out more about the six shortlisted books, go to our 2019 Prize page here.